Remote morgues

The Remote Morgues Program ensured morgue facilities in 20 remote communities were constructed or upgraded to allow the Department of Health through its health service providers to deliver morgue services to local Aboriginal people in these communities.

Maningrida, Wurrumiyanga, Lake Evella and Kaltukatjara (Docker River) did not have a morgue, and received new morgues. Alpurrurulam, Kalkarindji, Ngukurr and Numbulwar had their existing facility replaced with a new morgue. In addition, 12 communities received upgrades to their morgue facilities.

The Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics managed the construction work in conjunction with the Department of Local Government, Housing and Community Development and the Department of Health. The Department of Health is managing the operation and ongoing funding of remote morgues.

Morgue construction details

Twelve morgues upgrades have been completed at:

  • Ali Curung
  • Alyangula
  • Borroloola
  • Elliott
  • Jabiru
  • Kintore
  • Lajamanu
  • Nyirripi
  • Papunya
  • Yuendumu
  • Gunbalanya
  • Wadeye

Eight new morgues have been constructed at:

  • Kalkarindji
  • Maningrida
  • Lake Evella
  • Kaltukatjara (Docker River)
  • Ngukurr
  • Numbulwar
  • Wurrumiyanga
  • Alpurrurulam.

This completes the $6.17 million Remote Morgues Program.

Last updated: 01 February 2019