Homelands Services

Homelands and outstations are interchangeable terms used in different parts of the Northern Territory to describe places where small populations of Aboriginal people live in remote areas, on lands to which they have traditional ownership or historical association.

The Northern Territory Government recognises and supports the fundamental right of Aboriginal Territorians to live on, develop and maintain their homelands. Support for Aboriginal people to live on, develop and maintain their homelands is also in line with international obligations.

Significant national and Northern Territory policies exist to support homeland residents to fulfil their aspiration to maintain and strengthen distinct political, legal, economic, social and cultural institutions on homelands. Homelands policy and guidelines are aligned with Remote Contracting Policy and Good Practice Guidelines for Funding Remote Communities. Service delivery to homelands reflects these objectives and will continue to be based on strong, productive and collaborative relationships in recognition of the Territory’s long term commitment to principles of priority, engagement, sustainability, access and accountability. Approximately 10,000 Aboriginal Territorians are residents in 2,400 dwellings on more than 500 homelands across the Territory.

Find out about the Homelands Services Grants Program.

Homelands policy

The homelands policy is currently under review. When the review is finished the updated policy will be published on the website.

Funding to improve your homelands house

Services to remote communities and homelands


Homelands Services
Department of Local Government, Housing and Community Development
Phone: 1800 031 648

Last updated: 31 January 2020

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.